Running Song

Performance type: 
action sonore
Description: 
Performance carried out in 5 steps for a length of approximately 4 minutes each all along the afternoon in various locations in the Villa Arson.

step 1: 14h45 (Garden / kiosk) step 2: 16h15 (Stair case / access Grand amphitheater) step 3: 17h15 (Garden, square table) step 4: 19h45 (Grand hall) step 5: 21h15 (Higher terrace)
Step 1: 14:45 (Garden / kiosk)
A sort of a cabaret dancer performs a ventriloquy number with a small puppet over the song Rossignol amoureux (nightingale in love) by Leïla Ben Sedira.
Her look: a mini-dress to the bottoms, brown and yellow, with a Hawaiian pattern, red heals, red jacket with an antique pattern, a bun high on her head.
The puppet: hairy, pink, it is a bird.
The action in details: she arrives with a jukebox on wheels (the typical one for the singers on the subway), looks at the audience for a short while, pulls the puppet out of her jacket pocket, starts the music. The puppet opens its beak and flies following the music rhythm and intonations, as if it was singing. The performer's arm is thus very alert while the rest of the body remains supple but relatively immobile. At the end of the song lasting 3 minutes, the puppet bows, the performer removes her hand, turns it over, like a glove, and uses it as a container to request small change walking through the audience rows. She takes the juke box back, walks through the garden then leaves the Villa Arson through the entrance door.

Step 2 : 16:15 (Staircase / access Grand amphitheater)
A young lady interprets Hymne à la Joie (Ode to Joy) in a loop with a recorder.
Her look: a long pastoral and flowery dress, white shoes, a half braided ponytail.
The accessories: a lectern, scores, a recorder, a carpet for the resale of home-recorded singles.
The action in details: the spectator, forced to go through the staircase ends up facing this young lady who stares at them with a blissful smile. She has thick eye-brows and some lipstick on the mouthpiece of the recorder. There is a typo on the record cover, we can read "Hymen à la Joie" instead of "Hymne à la Joie." She will only stop when there will be almost nobody left. She will bow, pleased with herself, and leave by the lower staircase

Step 3: 17:15 (Garden, square table)
A woman from the East sings a song invented to beg "Hello Sir, Hello Madam,/ I am from Romania/ Impossible to work/ Please, please/ A little ticket/ To eat." Then she will dance over the song "Bouger Bouger" ("Move Move") by Magic System.
Her look: a shinny blue flight jacket, a viscose skirt, golden heals, a pregnant woman's belly.
The action in details: she enters and leaves through the entrance door of the Villa Arson. For the sung part, she is standing near the square table, for the danced part, she gets up on the table. The audience is sat on the table and scattered everywhere in the garden. For the begging part (with a small plastic purse with an English flag on it), she leaves the Magic System song on and walks around the audience, whispering furtive "thank-you."

Step 4: 19:45 (Grand hall)
Positioned in the middle of the half floor of the large staircase, a blind woman all dressed in black sings L'Aigle noir (The Black Eagle) by Barbara in karaoke.
Her look: a long black leather skirt, a black lace blouse, big black sandals, sunglasses.
The accessories: a bowl, the karaoke track of the song.
The action in details: she is positioned in a square of light. Alone on this half-floor and the public bellow or on the sides, we could believe we are at the Stade de France. The body will remain perfectly immobile, the head will turn slightly towards the sky in the intense musical moments. She is already there when the audience arrives, someone [Elodie Fradet, editor's note] will help her leave at the end of her performance. The voice is low and guttural.

Step 5: 21:15 (Superior terrace)
A woman arrives with a juke box on wheels and a little girl in her arms. [Capucine, a child "loaned" by her mother for the time of the song, editor's note]. She sings a cappella La Femme est l'avenir de l'homme (Woman is the Future of Man) by Jean Ferrat.
Her look: a long yellow mustard dress, golden plastic clogs.
The action in details: the audience is already installed on the terrace. The woman arrives with the child in her arms. During the song, interpreted like a lullaby, the chill will cry a little then will calm down. In three minutes, night has fallen darker and darker. The voice is high pitched, placed in the belly, the breath, relatively short. At the end of the song, the woman walks through the audience begging with her hand, then left by the side opposite the public's direction.

The audience remains passive, except for the "begging" part of each step, it has the freedom to give or not (and thus in a way, to interact with me or not).
Creator: 
Jeanne Moynot
Performer: 
Jeanne Moynot
Elodie Fradet
Witness: 
Eric Mangion
Florimond Dupont
Bibliographical sources: 
Art 21, numéro 31, été 2011, page 77.
Theoretical background: 
The audience moves around the Villa Arson between the various events locations (the Hall, the amphitheater, the studios…). During the day of Saturday, it is intercepted five times in its movements by a performer interpreting five street singers and begging at the end of each performance.
There is nothing more intimate than voice.
The music lover confuses all the flat surfaces with a tam-tam, the first words of a song starting too early, the fan of Johnny Hallyday paying him a sincere tribute but at a karaoke… All those para-musical elements constitute the database at the origin of my performances.

At the mouth of the subway's escalator suddenly appears the entertainer. A necessity to survive, looking for acknowledgement, the only certainty is that he has taken the plunge and that he offers himself naked to our eyes. The voice and the body, possibly an instrument or a musical support, sometimes an accessory: the thrift in the means multiplies the dramatic impact. The dramatic quality, this layer of signs and sensations building up on stage, is invariably present in a space of a few square meters instinctively delimited.
The feeling at the origin of my performances is that of empathy, a projection made in the other's body regarding not understanding but his own feeling.

There is not a field more codified by platitudes than that of maternity. There the woman's body is envisaged as an open entity and not as a threatened entity. Thus, she envelops, encompasses, becomes the original matrix, exploding the barriers to the intimate self to go towards the universal and the live-together.
Occurence: 
Places: 
Starting date: 
05 21 2011
2011/05/21-21:304 minutes
Topology: 
Organization: 
Background: 
lors de l'événement Sitôt Dit, week-end de clôture des expositions Poésie Action de Bernard Heidsieck et Collection (17 février 2011) de l'Encyclopédie de la Parole.
Adress: 
20, avenue Stephen Liégeard
Nice
France

Running Song

Florimond Dupont
Synopsis / Description: 
vidéo de la performance
Performances: 

Running Song

Elodie Fradet
Synopsis / Description: 
vidéo de la performance, HDV.
Performances: 
Objets: 
Documents:

Running Song

Type de performance: 
action sonore
Description: 
Performance réalisée en 5 étapes d'une durée de 4 minutes environ chacune tout au long de l'après-midi dans différents lieux de la Villa Arson.

étape 1: 14h45 (Jardin / kiosque) étape 2: 16h15 (Escalier / accès Grand amphi) étape 3: 17h15 (Jardin, table carrée) étape 4: 19h45 (Grand hall) étape 5: 21h15 (Terrasse supérieure)
Etape 1 : 14h45 (Jardin / kiosque)
Une sorte de danseuse de cabaret effectue un numéro de ventriloquie avec une petite marionnette sur la chanson Rossignol amoureux de Leïla Ben Sedira.
Son look : une mini robe au ras des fesses, marron et jaune, motif hawaïen, des talons rouges, une veste rouge à motif antique, un chignon tiré haut sur le crâne.
La marionnette : poilue, rose, c'est un oiseau.
L'action en détail : elle arrive avec un jukebox à roulettes (celui typique des chanteurs de métro), regarde un petit moment le public, sort la marionnette de la poche de sa veste, envoie la musique. La marionnette ouvre le bec et vole en suivant les rythme et les intonations de la musique, comme si c'était elle qui chantait. Le bras de la performeuse est donc très alerte alors que le reste du corps reste souple mais relativement immobile. À la fin de la chanson qui dure 3 minutes, la marionnette salue, la performeuse la retire de sa main, la retourne comme un gant et s'en sert comme récipient pour réclamer une petite pièce en passant entre les rangs des spectateurs. Elle récupère le juke box, traverse le jardin puis sort de la Villa Arson par la porte d'entrée.

Etape 2 : 16h15 (Escalier / accès Grand amphi)
Une jeune fille interprète en boucle l'Hymne à la joie à la flûte à bec.
Son look : une robe longue à fleurs bucolique, des souliers blancs, une demi-queue tressée.
Les accessoires : un pupitre, une partition, une flûte à bec, un tapis de revente de singles enregistrés à la maison.
L'action en détail : le spectateur, forcé de passer par l'escalier se retrouve nez à nez avec cette jeune femme qui les fixe avec un sourire béat. Elle a les sourcils fournis et du rouge à lèvre sur le bec de la flûte. Il y a une faute de frappe sur la pochette du disque, on peut lire « hymen à la joie » au lieu de « hymne à la joie ». Elle ne s'arrêtera que lorsqu'il n'y aura presque plus personne. Elle fera un salut, contente d'elle-même, et repartira par l'escalier du bas.

Etape 3 : 17h15 (Jardin, table carrée)
Une femme originaire de l'est chante une chanson inventée pour mendier « bonjour monsieur, bonjour madame / je suis de la Roumanie / pas possible de travailler / s'il vous plait, s'il plait / un petit ticket / pour manger ». Puis elle dansera sur la chanson « bouger bouger » de Magic System.
Son look : un bombers bleu brillant, une jupe en viscose, des talons dorés, un ventre de femme enceinte.
L'action en détail : elle arrive et repart par la porte d'entrée de la Villa Arson. Pour la partie chantée, elle est debout près de la table carrée, pour la partie dansée, elle monte sur la table. Le public est assis sur la table et un peu partout dans le jardin. Pour la partie mendicité (avec un petit porte-monnaie en plastique avec un drapeau anglais dessus), elle laisse la chanson de Magic System continuer et passe entre les spectateurs, murmurant de furtifs « merci ».

Etape 4 : 19h45 (Grand hall)
Installée au milieu du demi-étage du grand escalier, une femme aveugle toute de noire vêtue interprète L'Aigle noir de Barbara en karaoké.
Son look : une jupe longue en cuir, une chemise en dentelle noire, des grosses sandales noires, des lunettes noires.
Les accessoires : un bol, la piste karaoké de la chanson.
L'action en détail : Elle est installée dans un carré de lumière. Seule sur ce demi-étage et le public en bas ou sur les côtés, on se croirait au Stade de France. Le corps restera parfaitement immobile, la tête se tournera un peu vers le ciel dans les moments musicaux intenses. Elle est déjà là lorsque le public arrive, quelqu'un [Elodie Fradet, NDLR] l'aidera à partir à la fin de sa prestation. La voix est grave et gutturale.

Etape 5 : 21h15 (Terrasse supérieure)
Une femme arrive avec le jukebox roulant et une enfant dans les bras [Capucine, enfant "prêtée" par sa maman le temps de la chanson, NDLR]. Elle chante a cappella La Femme est l'avenir de l'homme de Jean Ferrat.
Son look : une robe longue jaune moutarde, des sabots dorés en plastique.
L'action en détail : le public est déjà en place sur la terrasse. La femme arrive avec l'enfant dans les bras. Pendant la chanson, qui est interprété comme une berceuse, l'enfant pleurera un peu puis se calmera. En trois minutes, la nuit est tombée de plus en plus. La voix est aigüe, placée dans le ventre, le souffle est relativement court. À la fin de la chanson, la femme passe entre les spectateur en mendiant avec la main, puis repart par le côté inverse du sens du public.

Le public reste passif, sauf pour la partie « mendicité » de chaque étape, il a la liberté de donner ou pas (et donc d'une certaine façon, de rentrer ou non en interaction avec moi).
Concepteur: 
Jeanne Moynot
Executant: 
Jeanne Moynot
Elodie Fradet
Temoin: 
Eric Mangion
Florimond Dupont
Sources bibliographiques: 
Art 21, numéro 31, été 2011, page 77.
Contexte théorique: 
Le public se déplace dans la Villa Arson entre les différents lieux d'intervention (le hall, l'amphithéâtre, les studios...). Dans la journée du samedi, il est intercepté dans ses déplacements à cinq reprises par une performeuse qui interprète cinq chanteuses de rue et mendie à la fin de chaque prestation.
Il n'y a pas plus intime que la voix.
Le mélomane qui confond toutes les surfaces planes avec un tam-tam, les premières paroles d'une chanson qui commence trop tôt, le fan de Johnny qui lui rend un hommage sincère mais au karaoké... Tous ces éléments para-musicaux constituent la banque de données à l'origine de mes performances.
À l'embouchure de l'escalator du métro surgit le saltimbanque. Nécessité de survie, recherche de reconnaissance, la seule certitude est qu'il a sauté le pas et qu'il s'offre nu à notre regard. La voix et le corps, éventuellement un instrument ou un accompagnement musical, parfois un accessoire : l'économie de moyens décuple l'impact dramatique. La théâtralité, cette épaisseur de signes et de sensations qui s'édifient sur la scène, est immanquablement présente dans un espace de quelques mètres carrés instinctivement délimité.
Le sentiment à l'origine de mes performances est celui de l'empathie, projection faite dans le corps de l'autre au regard non pas de l'entendement mais de son propre sentiment.

Il n'y a pas de champ plus codifié par les lieux communs que celui de la maternité. Ici le corps de la femme est envisagé comme une entité ouverte et non comme une entité menacée. Ainsi, elle enveloppe, englobe, devient matrice originelle, explosant les barrières de moi intime pour aller vers l'universel et le vivre-ensemble.
Effectuations: 
Lieux: 
Date de début: 
21 05 2011
2011/05/21-21:304 minutes
Topologie: 
Structure: 
Contexte: 
lors de l'événement Sitôt Dit, week-end de clôture des expositions Poésie Action de Bernard Heidsieck et Collection (17 février 2011) de l'Encyclopédie de la Parole.
Adresse: 
20, avenue Stephen Liégeard
Nice
France
Objets: 
Documents: